Sigh.

We made it.

Image

Boden is 3 months old.

In the world of babies, this is (apparently) known as “the turning point.”

From the first week of our lives as new parents, old(er) parents reassured us that the sleepless nights and complete lack of predictability would significantly decrease at the 12 week mark. Of course they all meant well, but honestly I tried not to listen because… well, I might as well admit it… I’m a pessimist. I didn’t really believe them, but oh how I wanted to! Or maybe the more accurate statement is that I wanted to believe them, but oh how I was afraid to! Afraid to be let down. Afraid 12 weeks would come and go without so much as a breath or change. We were both wrong.

The 3 month mark has turned out to be a turning point of sorts (as they said), yet it’s also come and gone without a major “to-do” (as I thought).

Image

Yesterday I went out to coffee with a friend. (side note: Ben has been courageous enough to watch Bo a few times while I’m able to have these short outings and what a world of difference that has made!) She shared some big news with me that she had started seeing someone. Very exciting. In the spirit of commonality, I eagerly announced that I too had “big news”! “Are you pregnant again already?!” she blurted. We both had a laugh and kept chatting as we walked (her with a chai and me with a non-caffienated fruity tea…oh how I miss caffeine). I finally told her that the night before Boden had slept 8 hours straight for the first time. “Wow,” she said, “that’s great. Oh, so what was your big news?” ….. That was it. In the world of babies, 8 hours straight is known as “big news.”

Image

After coffee, Ben and I went to two birthday parties back-to-back with both sides of our family. Of course the expected question was asked, “so, how is Bo doing?” and I was all too eager to share my “big news” that our 3 month old had slept through the night! The word was out, we had definitely reached “the turning point.” I couldn’t have been more proud.

Image

Last night…you guessed it… we barely slept, waking up every 3-4 hrs to feed or console our big 3 month old.

8 a.m. rolled around.

Sigh.

We made it.

Through the night.

Perhaps our big “turning point” will turn out be a bit more like a very wide bend in the road… not the kind that shifts you in your seat, but rather a slight drift that eventually takes you in a new direction.

Image

